Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Free CD Options For New Subscribers

Motema Music 10th Anniversary Season

Motema Music
10th Anniversary Season

This collection features an assortment of music from the Motema Music record label, with cuts from artists such as Marc Cary, Rene Marie, Gregory Porter, Charnett Moffett, Geri Allen and many others. Over 70 minutes of modern jazz!

Track Listing

1) Marc Cary/Focus Trio “Waltz Betty Waltz” from Four Directions

2) Nilson Matta “Eu E O Meu Amor” featuring Gretchen Parlato from Black Orpheus

3) Rene Marie “I’d Rather be Burned” from I Wanna Be Evil (With Love to Eartha Kitt)

4) David Murray & Infinity Quartet “Army of the Faithful” from Be My Monster Love

5) Jaimeo Brown “Mean World” from Transcendence

6) Geri Allen “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’” from Grand River Crossings (Motown & Motor City Inspirations

7) Charnett Moffett “Swing Raga” from Spirit of Sound

8) Eldar Djanigirov “Morning Bell” from Breakthrough

9) Pedro Martinez “Conciencia” from The Pedro Martinez Group

10) Rondi Charleston “DNA” from Signs of Life

11) Bob Mover “Chet’s Chum” from My Heart Tells Me

12) Joe Locke “Ain’t No Sunshine” from Lay Down My Heart

13) Geoffey Keezer from Heart of the Piano

14) Will Calhoun “Brother Will” from Life in This World

15) Kentyah Presents: M1, Brian Jackson & The Midnight Band “All We’ve Got” from Evolutionary Minded

16) Ryan Cohan “Call & Response” from The River

17) Matuto “Matuto Chant” from The Devil and the Diamond

18) David Weiss “Eva” from Endangered Species (The Music of Wayne Shorter)

19) Christine Ebersole “Am Blue?” from Strings Attached

20) Gregory Porter “Real Good Hands” from Be Good

Anniversary Sampler: Riverside at 60 & Pablo at 40

Anniversary Sampler
Riverside at 60 & Pablo at 40

This compilation celebrates the legacy of the Riverside and Pablo record labels with a dozen classic cuts by jazz legends such as the Bill Evans Trio, Wes Montgomery, John Coltrane, Art Tatum, Cannonball Adderley with Milt Jackson, Chet Baker, Sarah Vaughan and more. Over 65 minutes of great music!

Track Listing

1) Bill Evans Trio “I Should Care”

2) Wes Montgomery “Twisted Blues”

3) Thelonious Monk & Gerry Mulligan “Round Midnight”

4) Cannonball Adderley with Milt Jackson “Things Are Getting Better”

5) Chet Baker “I’ve Grown Accustomed to Her Face”

6) John Coltrane “Afro Blue”

7) Sarah Vaughan “In a Sentimental Mood”

8) Art Tatum “Moonglow”

9) Zoot Sims “Oh, Lady Be Good”

10) Dizzy Gillespie/Joe Pass/Ray Brown/Mickey Roker “Birks’ Works”

11) Duke Ellington and His Orchestra “Sunset and the Mockingbird”

12) Oscar Peterson/Stephane Grappelli “How About You?”

Mack Avenue Compilation

Mack Avenue Records Presents
JazzTimes Sampler

This compilation from Mack Avenue Records features 10 tracks from some of the best jazz artists on the scene today, including Kevin Eubanks, Christian McBride, Kenny Garrett, Gary Burton, Tia Fuller, Yellowjackets and Aaron Diehl. Over 65 minutes of modern jazz.

Track Listing

1) Aaron Diehl “Generation Y” from The Bespoke Man’s Narrative

2) Kevin Eubanks “Sister Veil” from The Messenger

3) Christian McBride & Inside Straight “Gang Gang” from People Music

4) Warren Wolf “Sunrise” from Wolfgang

5) Yellowjackets “Why Is It?” from Timeline

6) Kenny Garrett “J Mac” from Seeds From the Underground

7) The New Gary Burton Quartet “Late Night Sunrise” from Common Ground

8) Tia Fuller “Ralphie’s Groove” from Angelic Warrior

9) Hot Club of Detroit “Junction” from Junction

10) Mack Avenue SuperBand “Liberty Avenue Stroll” from Live from the Detroit Jazz Festival