Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Zach Brock: The Magic Number

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Violinist-composer Zach Brock reveals traces of his main influence, Jean-Luc Ponty, on this daring acoustic trio project featuring Matt Wigton on upright bass and Frederick Kennedy on drums. From the decidedly Mahavishnu Orchestra-flavored “Yeah Yeah Yeah” to the intricate, polyrhythmic “Summer Dance,” the Ponty-esque, pizzicato-fueled “In the Dark” (with wordless vocals by Scott Anderson and a nasty dub section midway through) and the slam-funk of “Golden Nuggets,” Brock acquits himself with audacious ingenuity and masterful command of his instrument. The set includes wholly fresh arrangements of “You Don’t Know What Love Is” and Phil Markowitz’s “Sno’ Peas,” and some beautifully singing violin work by Brock on the lyrical “Brooklyn Ballad.”

Originally Published