Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Wynton Marsalis: Sweet Release and Ghost Story- Two More Ballets

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

“Sweet Release” and “Ghost Story” are perhaps most interesting in revealing Marsalis’ approach to collaborative forms. Programmatic threads give the choreographer substantial foundations to support their efforts. The former piece, performed by the Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra, offers space, texture, and rhythmic variety. The latter, performed by a quartet including Ted Nash on reeds, Eric Lewis on piano, Carlito Henriquez on bass, and Jaz Sawyer on drums, is to these ears more effective, with a broader range of movements, including an intriguing tango.