Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Vinson Valega Group: Biophilia

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Drummer-composer Vinson Valega leads a crack sextet through several provocative originals along with faithful renditions of Ellington’s elegant and rarely performed “Sunset and the Mockingbird” (from “Queen’s Suite”), Thelonious Monk’s “Think of One” and Ornette Coleman’s rubato ballad “Kathelin Gray.” The drummer takes a coloristic approach on his gentle “I Just Wanted to See What You Look Like,” and plays melodically on the kit in interpreting Irving Berlin’s “Always.” Tenor saxophonist Chris Bacas contributes the angular “Talk Time,” which travels from funk to #son montuno# to free jazz. Valega’s lovely closer, “Doesn’t It Feel Great to Be Alive?,” is a vehicle for expressive solos by trombonist Mark Miller, flutist Anton Denner and Bacas on soprano sax. Valega’s tour de force, “A Moment of Silence,” is a challenging, shape-shifting number that puts the entire ensemble through its paces.

Originally Published