Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Vicious World: Plays the Music of Rufus Wainwright

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

This inventive New York-based septet interprets material by the singer-songwriter Rufus Wainwright with some surprising results. With saxophonist Aaron Irwin and trombonist Matthew McDonald interpreting the melodies and interweaving on the frontline, violinist Eliza Cho and cellist Maria Jeffers create mesmerizing accompaniment alongside Frisell-ian guitarist Sebastian Noelle. Bassist Thomson Kneeland and drummer Danny Fischer provide sensitive rhythmic support on Wainwright numbers like “Going to a Town,” the lyrical “Natasha” and the delicate, whimsical “Memphis Skyline.” And Noelle skronks with impunity on the raw and raucous “This Love Affair,” which sounds more Tom Waits than Rufus Wainwright. Other highlights include the elegant “Leaving for Paris” (note Irwin’s buoyant clarinet work), the intricate counterpoint number “Millbrook,” the dissonant “In a Graveyard” and the bittersweet waltz “Dinner at Eight.”

Originally Published