Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

University of the Arts School of Music Grad Ensemble: Lyric Motion (UArts)

A review of the album featuring three distinctive groupings

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.
University of the Arts School of Music Graduate School Ensemble, Lyric Motion
The cover of Lyric Motion by the University of the Arts School of Music Graduate Ensemble

There is much to savor in this third recording in recent years showcasing original compositions and performance by musicians in the graduate jazz studies program at Philadelphia’s University of the Arts. In this case, the music comes from three distinct groupings: trio, quartet, and a quintet that is supplemented by vocals on one of its three tunes.

There’s an ECM feel in the trio explorations of guitarist Dave Allen’s varied originals: the rollicking “Slipping Glimpser,” the beautifully shaped title track “Lyric Motion,” and the twists and turns of the more mysterious “Untold Story.” Allen is joined in this intimate setting by Shane Aaserud on bass and faculty member Matt Scarano on drums.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.