Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Ulysses Owens Jr.: Songs of Freedom (Resilience Music Alliance)

A review of the drummer/producer's album featuring four different vocalists

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.
Songs of Freedom by Ulysses Owens, Jr.
The cover of Songs of Freedom by Ulysses Owens, Jr.

One sign of a successful concept album is that it doesn’t wear out its welcome. Drummer, producer, and savvy musical ringleader Ulysses Owens Jr. showcases four very different vocalists on Songs of Freedom, an album that could have easily expanded to twice its nine songs—all of them associated with or written by Nina Simone, Abbey Lincoln, or Joni Mitchell.

The freedom Owens has in mind isn’t necessarily political. The material explores notions of spiritual and emotional liberation as well, though the album’s pulse is driven by the disquieting sense that civil rights-era songs resonate more loudly than ever these days. René Marie sounds formidable on Max Roach and Oscar Brown Jr.’s “Driva’ Man” from the Freedom Now Suite and positively ferocious on Simone’s “Mississippi Goddam.”

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.