Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Trio X: The Sugar Hill Suite

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Here are three more excellent albums from the tireless mind of Joe McPhee. The multi-faceted horn master recently turned 66, but his creative vault remains bottomless. Two sets by his group Trio-X (with bassist Dominic Duval and drummer Jay Rosen) come from a three-day session at CIMP’s Spirit Room in October 2004. The Sugar Hill Suite alternates between slow meditations and swinging vamps. The opening “For Agusta Savage” is mournful, as McPhee traces an Ornette Coleman-ish tenor-sax pattern. Later, “Triple Play” and “Monk’s Waltz” are catchy yet reflective, at times even serene. This affinity for combining the somber with the upbeat peaks on the stunning 16-minute title track. Duval and Rosen begin alone, grinding out a ringing rhythm. An abrupt halt opens space for McPhee’s high-flying notes, followed by smooth swings between free-form thunder and near-silent subtlety.

On Moods, McPhee stretches further, playing flugelhorn and pocket trumpet, plus more rippling tenor sax. The trio’s patterns also widen: Often, one player will retreat completely, while “Dedicated to You, Joe” offers Duval alone. Despite these differences, Moods retains the thoughtful tone of The Sugar Hill Suite. The mostly free workout “Burning Wood” dazzles with its range of impulsive sounds, while McPhee growls like Ayler during a poignant take on Ornette Coleman’s “Lonely Woman.” The closing “A Valentine in the Fog of War” summarizes the Trio’s arsenal: dense drums, trembling bass and the soulful explorations of McPhee’s tenor sax.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.