Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Tony Jones/Kenny Wollesen/Charles Burnham : Pitch, Rhythm, and Consciousness

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Tenor saxophonist Tony Jones is featured here in a stripped-down trio setting with drummer-percussionist Kenny Wollesen and the highly imaginative violinist Charles Burnham. Quietly introspective, conversational pieces like “Dear Toy” and “C.K.” explore the gentle side of free jazz, with Wollesen underscoring the proceedings on brushes, bells and gongs while also making judicious use of silence. Jones brings a Dewey Redman-esque edge to the avant-blues meditation “Howlin’ Wolf,” then summons up serenity by blowing warm long tones on “Billie,” accompanied by Burnham’s koto-like pizzicato work. “Division and Kent” begins as a showcase for Burnham’s keening violin and develops into a darting, dissonant dialogue between the fiddle and Jones’ horn. “Jessie” is a feature for Wollesen’s metallic percussion, and the somber “Four Nights” has Jones channeling his inner Coleman Hawkins.

Originally Published