Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Tineke Postma: The Dawn of Light

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Dutch alto and soprano saxophonist Tineke Postma’s playing is supple and nuanced, to the point where her tone can suggest Lee Konitz. Sometimes she flits airily from note to note and sometimes she fidgets with phrases and releases flurries of notes or tonal wisps. The music on this album, her fifth, is rarely straight-ahead and swinging, although there are episodes of strong rhythm. Postma’s band (the term “rhythm section” seems limiting), which includes Dutch musicians Marc Van Roon (acoustic and electric piano and synthesizer), Frans Van Der Hoeven (bass) and Martijn Vink (drums), has a fluid sense of ebb and flow and interplay.

The quartet conveys wistfulness convincingly, as on Postma’s “Before the Snow” and Van Roon’s “Newland.” Guest Esperanza Spalding (in her only appearance here) sings Postma and lyricist Pablo Neruda’s “Leave Me a Place Underground,” with the beat assertive and the drums busy. Thelonious Monk’s “Off Minor” opens with alto saxophone and piano in a fluid, free dialogue before the melody finally emerges; the performance yields more to Postma and Van Roon’s concept than it evokes the composer’s percussive piano style. Monk is the only American composer represented here, with Postma penning the majority of the tunes.

The lyricism expressed throughout this album is engaging, and Postma’s saxophone technique dazzles. But sometimes you wish the group would cook more.

Originally Published