Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

The Curtis Brothers: Completion of Proof

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

The gifted Curtis Brothers, Zaccai (piano) and Luques (bass), were hailed as a team of rising stars within the Hartford, Conn., scene long before they began making their respective marks in New York. Products of Jackie McLean’s Artists Collective who were deeply immersed in Afro-Caribbean culture while growing up, the brothers meld the spirit of Latin jazz with the Jazz Messengers on this latest release. They are joined by such gifted elders/mentors as trumpeter Brian Lynch, saxophonists Donald Harrison and Joe Ford and drummer Ralph Peterson. But most impressive is the program: All eight compositions-from pent-up burners like “The Onge” and “Jazz Conspiracy” to Latin-flavored offerings like “The Wrath” and “Manifest Destiny”-were composed and arranged by Zaccai.

Originally Published