Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Ted Hogarth and the Mulligan Mosaics Big Band: Live at the Jazz Showcase

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Back in the early Fifties, when Gerry Mulligan formed his famous quartet with Chet Baker, it was without a piano to provide that front line with the ultimate harmonic freedom. In 1960, when Mulligan expanded his composing and arranging palettes to embrace the 13-member Concert Jazz Band, he again eschewed piano. Four years ago, when Chicago’s Ted Hogarth created his homage to Mulligan with the Mulligan Mosaics Big Band, the latter consisted of 13 players but no pianist. That’s where most similarities end.

Hogarth has successfully re-created the spirit of the original Concert Jazz Band (he was given total access to the Mulligan library by Gerry’s widow, Franca), with first-class Chicago-area musicians, but the spirit of the solo work fails to match the the original excitement of exploration. No surprises there; how can one expect baritonist Hogarth to duplicate the pristine freshness of the two Mulligan solos on the Brookmeyer chart, “A Ballad,” or what tenorist Mark Colby does with Bill Holman’s arrangement of “Apple Core,” originally peeled by Zoot Sims? Another highlight comes on the Billy Strayhorn composition, “Intimacy of the Blues.” As arranged by Tom Matta, the orchestration of the horns behind Colby and Matta’s own trumpet are sufficiently chordal to make up for the comping of a piano or guitar.

Hogarth’s intent, for this project, is to honor-by-update…not to duplicate. He successfully refreshes the Mulligan message and even makes orchestrations available online through the Library of Congress. That should provide enough to feed a whole new generation plenty of Mulligan stew.

Originally Published