Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Sound Assembly: Edge of the Mind

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Co-led by composers David Schumacher and JC Sanford, this dynamic 17-piece jazz orchestra delivers heady, modernist fare ranging from the dissonant, surging “Breaking Point” to the majestic sweep of “Edge of the Window,” the sly, Thad Jones-inspired “Chuck ‘n’ Jinx,” the formidable “Rhythm of the Mind” and the gentle, rubato ballad “Ives, Eyes.” The session is fueled by the excellent drumming of John Hollenback. Outstanding soloists include tenor saxophonist Chris Bacas, guitarist Andrew Green, baritone saxophonist Dave Riekenberg, trombonists Mark Patterson and Alan Ferber and bass clarinetist Ben Kono. Kate McGarry lends ethereal vocals to the gentle tone poem “The Radiance of Spring.”

Originally Published