Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

SFJAZZ Collective: Music of Miles Davis & Original Compositions (SFJAZZ)

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.
SFJAZZ Collective (photo by Jay Blakesberg)
SFJAZZ Collective (photo by Jay Blakesberg)

SFJAZZ is a powerful cultural institution based in San Francisco. It even has its own 700-seat venue, the SFJAZZ Center, where it presents more than 300 performances a year. Since 2004 the organization has also sponsored the SFJAZZ Collective, an all-star octet.

Over the years, many major figures—interestingly, almost all based on the East Coast—have played in the Collective, including Joe Lovano, Joshua Redman, Dave Douglas, Bobby Hutcherson and Stefon Harris. The current edition has some headliner names (alto saxophonist Miguel Zenón, tenor saxophonist David Sánchez, vibraphonist Warren Wolf) and some who are less well known but who are still on the jazz A-list (bassist Matt Penman, drummer Obed Calvaire).

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published