Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Rob Garcia 4: The Drop and the Ocean

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Emerging drummer-composer-bandleader Rob Garcia takes another step toward the deeper end of the pool on this compelling collection. Titled after a Sufi concept of the individual and the path to surrendering to something bigger, it contains powerful musical moments from saxophonist Noah Preminger, pianist Dan Tepfer and bassist John Hébert, all of whom exhibit remarkable chemistry on metrically challenging numbers like “Will,” “Boundaries,” “String and Poise” and “Crash.” These musical labyrinths inevitably open up to freeblowing that brings the players’ intuitive skills to the fore, and three drum improvisations serve as startling interludes. Further compositional depth is revealed on the sublime brushes ballad “Humility” and the mournful rubato number “Lost by Morning.” Thoughtful original music delivered with rare conviction.

Originally Published