Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Phil Dwyer Orchestra: Changing Seasons

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

This 17-piece Canadian big band led by saxophonist-composer Phil Dwyer is augmented by a full complement of 21 strings on this rich collaboration inspired jointly by John Coltrane and Vivaldi. The program is a four-movement suite (“Spring,” “Summer,” “Autumn,” “Winter”) that features Dwyer and violinist Mark Fewer (former concert master of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra) as principal soloists, blowing heroic themes and improvising over the combined ensembles. Dwyer’s dynamic 35-minute masterwork provides a bridge between the jazz and classical worlds that deftly shifts back and forth from sublime to seriously swinging.

Originally Published