Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Nicholas Payton: Nick @ Night

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Payton delivers a program of largely originals, spiced by two additions from the band (Tim Warfield, saxes; Anthony Wonsey, piano; Reuben Rogers, bass; Adonis Rose, drums) and the surprise inclusion of Maurice White’s pop-jazz classic “Sun Goddess.” This disc represents a decidedly more radio-friendly Payton approach, as exemplified by “Sun Goddess” and Warfield’s consistent utilization of the soprano sax, an instrument which has been just about beaten to mush in lesser hands, though Tim has an attractive sound that transcends the all-too-prevalent nasal tone of lesser lights.