Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Nate Najar: This Is Nate Najar (Candid)

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.
Nate Najar: "This Is Nate Najar"
Nate Najar: “This Is Nate Najar”

Guitarist Nate Najar never met the late jazz legend Charlie Byrd, but there’s no mistaking their strong spiritual connection. It’s almost palpable on Blues for Night People, Najar’s 2012 trio tribute to Byrd, and it remains evident throughout this more colorfully expansive session featuring trumpeter James Suggs, bassist John Lamb and drummer Matt Home.

Even if Najar didn’t play a nylon-string guitar, his touch and repertoire would draw flattering comparisons. Like Byrd, Najar is a sucker for blues, bossas and well-crafted tunes that bridge a variety of jazz, classical and pop tastes. Chick Corea is represented here by three compositions: “500 Miles High,” trumpet-tinted and rhythmically alluring; “Chick’s Tune,” boppishly bright and swinging; and “Crystal Silence,” at once intimate and soulful. Likewise, Antonio Carlos Jobim receives multiple salutes, beginning with a haunting performance of “Insensatez” (“How Insensitive”), which showcases a pair of guests, cellist Ella Fredrickson and drummer Mark Feinman.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published