Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Nat Janoff: Come Together Move Apart

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

On his fourth outing as a leader, guitarist-composer Nat Janoff surrounds himself with kindred spirits and fellow chopsmeisters in pianist John Escreet, bassist Francois Moutin and drummer Chris Carroll. Janoff shows a propensity for fleet-fingered, Pat Martino-meets-John McLaughlin linear work on originals like “Mood,” the swinging “Shorter Times,” “Partly Cloudy” and the surging “Transit,” which includes a touch of nasty distortion on his edgy solo. Lyrical offerings like “For Now,” “Hope Fills My Heart” and his mellow “Sketch 1” and “Sketch 2” show a different side from Janoff’s sheer-burn instincts.