Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Nadav Snir-Zelniker Trio: Thinking Out Loud

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Israeli-born drummer Nadav Snir-Zelniker joins Todd Coolman on bass and Ted Rosenthal on piano for this enjoyable collection of standards and originals. From the joyful opener, “Pizmon Layakinton,” they tackle a burning rendition of “Secret Love” before diving into inventive interpretations of Billy Strayhorn’s “Isfahan” and Irving Berlin’s “Blue Skies,” the latter underscored by Snir-Zelniker’s slick brushwork and insistent ride-cymbal pulse. Coolman turns in some expressive arco work on the ballad “Come Wonder With Me,” while Rosenthal offers sensitive keyboard work on Bill Evans’ “Interplay” and his own jaunty midtempo swinger “Carefree.”

Originally Published