Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Matt Herskovitz: Jerusalem Trilogy

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Pianist-composer Matt Herskowitz pilots a seamless cross-genre journey with his trio, augmented by violinist Lara St. John and cellist Mike Block. Blending elements of classical (“Polonaise Libanaise,” “Prokofiev’s Revenge”), rock (the Bad Plus-influenced “Crossbones”) and jazz, Herskowitz exhibits his commanding keyboard skills and improvisational daring throughout. The centerpiece is his three-movement “Jerusalem Trilogy,” though his most affecting pieces are the moving “Gottingen,” with Bassam Saba on Middle Eastern nay and oud, and the intimate “Duologue on Under Your White Starry Heaven,” written for violinist St. John and cellist Block.

Originally Published