Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Kyle Eastwood: In Transit (Jazz Village)

Review of the bassist's eighth album as a leader

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.
Cover of Kyle Eastwood album In Transit
Cover of Kyle Eastwood album In Transit

Nearly two decades after the release of his debut, Kyle Eastwood—on his eighth album as a leader—pilots a strong band, writes solid material and plays the bass with brio. Listening to In Transit’s 10 tracks, including several originals and a few smartly chosen covers, one is struck by the obvious ebullience among the participants, and by the unquestionable talent. Eastwood and his English band—tenor and soprano saxophonist Brandon Allen, trumpeter/flugelhornist Quentin Collins, pianist Andrew McCormack and new drummer Chris Higginbottom—lock tightly on grooves like “Rockin’ Ronnie’s,” a swinging original dedicated to the venerable London jazz club, and “Rush Hour,” which lives up to its name with its rapid-fire pace. “Jarreau,” a nod to the late vocalist, is elegant, and “Soulful Times,” a ringer for a late-’60s/early ’70s soul-jazz radio hit, sets the pace agreeably.

Italian saxophonist Stefano Di Battista joins the quintet for four numbers, bringing additional body to the horn mix; his primary showcase, on Ennio Morricone’s “Cinema Paradiso (Love Theme),” particularly when he dances with Eastwood’s bass, is both audacious and delicate. The other covers—one each from Monk, Mingus and Basie—are all handled adroitly.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published