Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

John Vanore & Abstract Truth: Contagious Words

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Ambitious writing and arranging for 12-piece ensemble by Philly-based trumpeter John Vanore, a Woody Herman alumni from the ’70s Herd. This third release by his Abstract Truth opens with the leader’s plaintive tones on the hauntingly beautiful “Envy.” The well-crafted, odd-metered “Substructure” blends French horn, two trombones and bass trombone on the frontline as a full complement of trumpets engage in an active, contrapuntal conversation, building tension throughout the piece. Trumpeter Kevin Rodger contributes a stirring orchestration of the romantic ballad “You Go to My Head,” with some lyrical alto sax work from Michael Mee. The edgy, avant garde-ish “Restless” boasts ferocious overblowing from tenor saxophonist Bob Howell, who switches to bass clarinet on the epic “Dreams.” Other highlights include the Bitches Brew-influenced number “Felony” and the classically swinging big-band sound of “Recess.”

Originally Published