Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

John Carlson/Eric Hipp/Shawn McGloin/Scott Neumann: Free Range Rat

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Free Range Rat features John Carlson, trumpet; Eric Hipp, tenor sax; Shawn McGloin, bass; and Scott Neumann, drums. The program includes Ellington’s “African Flower,” four Sun Ra tunes, and original writing from Carlson and Hipp. Broadly speaking, the quartet’s approach here is like early Ornette or Don Cherry groups: the rhythm team keep a solid swing going while the horns play freely over the top. It’s a formula that’s no longer earth-shaking, but for free-form fans interested in music, not formulae, this enthusiastic group will be a pleasant surprise.