Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Jeff Denson: Secret World

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

A founding member of Minsarah, the Brooklyn-based trio probably best known for its collaborations with Lee Konitz, accomplished bassist-composer Jeff Denson delivers 10 original gems on this precious quartet offering. The kindred personnel here are heavy: Ralph Alessi on trumpet, drummer Dan Weiss and Minsarah’s Florian Weber on piano. From the driving opener, “Rise,” with adventurous solos from Denson, Alessi and Weiss, to the somber “Autumn Song,” showcasing Denson’s haunting vocals, to the twisting groove and harmonic extrapolation on “Not Another Moment’s Thought,” this outing bristles with intelligence and passionate, unbridled improvisation.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published