Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Jacam Manricks: Cloud Nine

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Australian-born, New York-based alto saxophonist-composer Jacam Manricks has been quietly churning out quality recordings as a leader that feature some of the most in-demand players on the NYC scene. Cloud Nine, his fourth, is no exception. With Adam Rogers on guitar, Matt Wilson on drums and Sam Yahel on organ, he has recruited first-class talent. Together they forge a potent, swinging chemistry on Manricks originals like “Any Minute Now,” the soothing, harmonically rich “Loaf” and the “Giant Steps”-influenced “Take the Five Train.” Rogers is a six-string marvel throughout, and Wilson’s choices never fail to surprise. Manricks proves himself a stellar improviser, particularly with his impassioned, unaccompanied “Serene Pilgrimage.” The copasetic crew also turns in a sparsely haunting rendition of Jobim’s “Luiza” to close.

Originally Published