Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Harriet Tubman: Ascension

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

For this special edition of Harriet Tubman, the regular longstanding power trio of bassist Melvin Gibbs, guitarist Brandon Ross and drummer JT Lewis is augmented by trumpeter Ron Miles (a member of Bill Frisell’s quintet) and turntablists DJ Logic and DJ Singe. Together they turn in a scintillating, white-hot cauldron of slamming funk-rock, audacious skronking and ambient textures, with Miles’ plaintive trumpet, Ross’ searing, distortion-laced guitar lines and the DJs’ wildly creative impulses flying over the dense mix with subversive impunity.

Drawing inspiration from John Coltrane’s Ascension, these sonic warriors dive headlong into the deep waters of electronic improvisation with strictly a “no wrong notes” mentality. Gibbs showcases his mighty electric bass chops on the lyrical “Night Master/Ascension” and on the raucous “Widely Known,” while under-the-radar guitar slinger Ross unleashes with rock-tinged abandon on “Sideral Flux” and “Ritual Rubbin.”

Bubbling Mu-tron-inflected bass, backwards guitar lines, inventive loops, subharmonic tones and subversive little ear cookies prevail on this edgy amalgam of post-Bitches Brew fusion and dream-like electronica.

Originally Published