Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Greg Osby: Further Ado

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

From his early ’80s work/study tenure in the Howard University Jazz Orchestra (bandmates: Geri Allen, Wallace Roney, Steve Coleman) to his mid-’80s progressions with Brooklyn’s M-Base Collective to his underrated ’90s funk ‘n’ hop period, alto saxophonist Greg Osby has always moved his style, worked his own “sound.” What a sound it is-rhythmically hard yet cerebrally soulful, fluid, warm, full-bodied and muscular like a tenor (even when he takes it upstairs), with exceptional one note-hang time.

Pushed by a group of some of the best new generation shape shifters on the set today-Jason Moran, piano; Eric Harland, drums; Lonnie Plaxico, Calvin Jones, bass; Tim Hagans, trumpet; Mark Shim, tenor; Cleave Guyton, flute/clarinet; Jeff Haynes, percussion-Osby brings his sound forward (plus nine new compositions) with a quickness on his newest disc Further Ado. With these cats on his side, the altoist renders the music here to its fullest. From the lushly wafting, tandem piano/flute melodies that soothe Osby’s bittersweet soliloquies on “Transparency” to Hagan’s crackling wails behind Osby’s Eddie Harris reconstructions on “Heard” to the ensemble’s seething phrases on the cowbell/congas-intensive “Vixen’s Vance,” Further Ado is an ever-rewarding experience. What a sound this is.