Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Giorgio Gaslini Globo Quartet Plus: Ballets

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

This disc presents the scores of two ballets composed by Giorgio Gaslini, in a style that bridges the concepts of classical formalism and the cool of a modern jazz quartet.

The main piece, produced in 1995, is “Carmen Graffiti”, based not on Bizet’s opera, but on the original novel. Gaslini’s score is also original, although the familiar themes waft in. The focus is on the tightly constructed Globo Quartet, with Gaslini’s piano and intriguing effects by Daniele Di Gregorio on vibes and marimba.

The second, shorter, ballet is “Dodici Minuti All’Alba”, arranged for dancing around a grand piano at center stage. Here, the piano is central, but the Globo Qaurtet is augmented by string and wind quartets, featuring the probing alto sax of Roberto Martinelli, and more appropriately fusing the rhythmic concepts of jazz within the ballet framework and Gaslini’s heady explorations.