Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Full Blast & Friends: Sketches and Ballads

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

It sounds like a question the lads from Spinal Tap would have asked: “How do you get more full blast than full blast?” But the trio of multireedist and free-jazz icon Peter Brötzmann, electric bassist Marino Pliakas and drummer Michael Wertmüller offers a deadly serious answer, doubling in size with the addition of Ken Vandermark on bari sax and clarinet, Thomas Heberer on trumpet and Dirk Rothbrust on percussion and timpani. As the players’ reputations suggest, this is a conglomeration able to conjure a carpet-bombing onslaught of sound, and it often does over the course of Wertmüller’s 38-minute composition. But the densely arranged piece offers a surprisingly wide variety of textures, albeit maintaining a chest-rattling force even in its sparest moments.

Reportedly running to fifty crowded pages, it begins with the ominous rumble of the composer’s impossibly rapid barrage, girded by Rothbrust’s bellowing timpani and Pliakas’ subterranean bass tremors, which provide the foundation for a stumbling, fractured horn line. It all ends with an abrupt, squalling rush off the edge of a cliff, by that point needing to be obliterated rather than simply stopped. Free-jazz avalanches spearheaded by Brötzmann’s scything tárogató erupt out of steely march rhythms, only to succumb to the Stravinsky-esque thunder of a symphonic passage in which the sextet swells to an orchestral scale.

Originally Published