Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Eric Krasno: Reminisce

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Guitarist Eric Krasno has stepped away from the funk-and-jam trio Soulive for a funk-and-jam solo CD, his first. Soulive members Neal (organ) and Alan Evans (drums) are here in reduced roles, although the latter mixed the project. The new crew, which will tour to support the CD, includes Adam Deitch on drums; Nigel Hall on bass, keys and vocals; and Ryan Zoidis on saxophone and flute.

Krasno has a great tone, and with the eight original songs and two covers-the Beatles’ “Get Back” and a full-tilt, slamming version of Jimi Hendrix’s “Manic Depression”-there are more than enough guitar and organ riffs here to get a festival grooving. Boston-based Hall, who evokes Prince and Terence Trent D’Arby, has plenty of soul to spare on both “Manic Depression” and the bluesy “Be Alright.” Highlights abound: the Latin overtones of “Enhorabuena,” the soul-rock-blues of the slow-grooving “Song for Dilla” (a tribute to late hip-hop icon J. Dilla), and the quiet mystery of “Reminisce: End of the Movie.”

Krasno has created a CD for those who like jam music with direction-direction with plenty of worthwhile diversions.

Originally Published