Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Eric Alexander: In Europe

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Powered by Wes Montgomery’s organist of choice, Melvin Rhyne, and rounded out by guitarist Bobby Broom and drummer Joe Farnsworth, this group is led by Alexander, an uncommonly strong tenor saxophonist for someone who’s still in his 20s.

A grooving original blues waltz, “Stay On It” features a flowing, soulful, tenor solo and a light and sparse contribution by Broom. In contrast, Rhyne’s “Spank That Pig” is a straightahead blues that enables all concerned to get downright nasty; Rhyne executes a series of smoldering choruses while working the pedals without a hitch, Broom colorfully bends and riffs, and Alexander tops things off with a solo that subtly cries and moans. Cleverly treated as a bright bossa, “That’s All” finds the leader handing off the bridge to Broom during the head; later on, he articulately blows long lines over the plush underpinning. No real surprises, just solid playing all around.