Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Django Bates: Quiet Nights

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Here Bates, on keyboards and peckhorn, appears with his band Human Chain, including sax, lipo sax and bass harmonica player Iain Ballamy, bass gui-tarist Michael Mondesir and wood and electric drummer Michael French. They work with Swedish vocalist Josefine Cronholm, who sings mostly standards.

“And the Mermaid Laughed” is a tone poem on which all five collaborate and Bates’ “Is There Anyone Up There” contains gorgeous piano work by him and spoken narration by Cronholm. She’s a good, solid artist and sings in a straightforward manner, but her backing is anything but conventional. All sorts of unusual timbres, some created by electric instruments, and harmonies are employed around her, creating some of the more unique versions of, say, “Over the Rainbow” and “Teach Me Tonight” you’re going to hear. There are even humorous, Spike Jones-like moments here. A few nice solos are contributed to the proceedings by Bates and the Stan Getz-influenced Ballamy.