Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

David Kikoski Trio: Inner Trust

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Pianist Dave Kikoski has more than 15 years under his belt as a member of drummer Roy Haynes’ band. On the road with Haynes and in other settings, he has developed strong skills as a musical interpreter and conversationalist. Both are at the heart of Inner Trust, a collaboration with longtime Haynes bandmate Ed Howard on bass and the do-more-with-less drummer Leon Parker.

While he puts his own stamp on a range of standards and pays homage to John Coltrane (“Some Other Blues”), Thelonious Monk (“We See”) and Bill Evans, (“Two Lonely People”), the leader’s three originals-“Mirical,” “Inner Trust” and “Winnie’s Garden” (a variation on “Sweet Georgia Brown”)-hold even more interest. Their freshness and mystery bring the band’s intensity up a notch. For good measure, Kikoski goes solo on one tune, a rich version of “Once Upon a Summertime.” All in all, a creative workout.