Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Darius Jones Quartet: Book of Mae’bul (Another Kind of Sunrise)

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

The third chapter of his sonic autobiography finds Darius Jones bringing his story up to the present, translating the events surrounding the saxophonist’s 2005 move to New York and emergence on the wider jazz scene. Where his two previous entries, 2009’s Man’ish Boy (A Raw & Beautiful Thing) and last year’s Big Gurl (Smell My Dream), plumbed the raw, rootsy sound of his upbringing in rural Virginia and the Southern church and subsequent studies at Virginia Commonwealth University, The Book of Mae’bul refines Jones’ sound without forsaking the gut-level impact of his roaring alto.

This time out, Jones employs his working quartet with pianist Matt Mitchell, bassist Trevor Dunn and drummer Ches Smith, all peers with an equal ability to randomly access wide swaths of both jazz history and modernity. The corkscrew permutations of “Winkie” are immediately followed by the unironically lovely ballad “Be Patient With Me,” with Jones finding an unexpected, quavering vulnerability in his typically steely tone.

Offering the opportunity for direct comparison, Book of Mae’bul closes with a reprise of “Roosevelt,” the tune that opened Man’ish Boy. There, the piece consisted of little more than its theme, bellowed over a pulsating bass/piano bed. The new version more than quintuples the original’s one-minute duration, dissolving into airy, open space dominated by abstract textures.

Jones’ previous releases have been touted as a more warm-blooded alternative to the headier complexity of many of his contemporaries, but Mae’bul asserts a more integrated view of those approaches, with full-throated emotion bursting out of darting, angular lines, swaggering swing derailed by eccentric swerves.

Originally Published