Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Chris Dingman: Waking Dreams

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Vibraphonist-composer Chris Dingman recruited trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire, pianist Fabian Almazan, bassist Joe Sanders, drummer Justin Brown and saxophonist Loren Stillman to help him realize this darkly revealing and transcendent music. From the serenity of the opening “Vijayanagara” to the urgent and dissonant “Jet Lag” and the tender ballad “Manhattan Bridge,” Dingman has successfully captured the myriad moods of his conscious and unconscious life. There’s a tinge of melancholy to “Indian Hill,” on which Stillman blows plaintive soprano sax. The luminous sound of vibes carries the uplifting “Same Coin,” and Stillman digs in on “Shift in the Wind,” which gradually builds to a dynamic crescendo. The intimate solo vibes piece “Reflection” is a palette cleanser before the turbulent “Clear the Rain,” on which Akinmusire, Almazan and Brown engage in a dynamic dance. “Zaneta” swings effervescently, and the closer, “Epilogue: Stillness,” features spoken-word recitation by Dingman backed by Almazan’s gentle accompaniment.

Originally Published