Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Chick Corea: Solo Piano: Standards

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

Chick Corea chose to record a two-volume solo piano project last year during a tour of Scandinavia and Japan. Each concert consisted of standards in the first half and originals in the second. The standards reveal aspects of Corea’s improvisational strengths; his Tatumesque runs on “Ask Me Now,” the dense, dark clusters on “How Deep Is the Ocean,” the dancing, single-note introduction to Monk’s Dream and the playful, implied samba of “Brazil.”