Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Bruce Swaim Quartet: My Heart Stood Still

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

D.C.-area tenor saxophonist Bruce Swaim fronts a reliably swinging straight-ahead jazz quartet on its third outing together. Pianist Jay Cooley contributes some impressive originals in “Keep Left” and the mellow “Silent Chime.” Swaim’s robust tone and lyrical quality is showcased on his ballad “Baby,” while he burns a blue streak on his hard-boppish closer, “Four Step Shuffle.” Other highlights: a killing rendition of Horace Silver’s “Mayrah,” along with covers of Jimmy Heath’s “Sound for Sore Ears” and Rodgers and Hart’s “My Heart Stood Still,” done in uptempo swinging fashion.

Originally Published