Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Bob Belden Presents: Strawberry Fields

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

As far as tribute recordings go, the Beatles are a no-brainer. Arguably the most covered band in pop music history, the Beatles have been extolled and mutilated by the best and worst of ’em. Musician/producer Bob Belden felt he could succeed where others have failed-hence Strawberry Fields.

Belden’s approach is fresh: select a mix of hits and nuggets from the band’s catalog, conduct a true jazz-rock band of hip young players (Javon Jackson, Tim Hagans, Kevin Hays amongst them) through charts that recall vintage ’70s Quincy Jones, enlist a cadre of fierce divas (Dianne Reeves, Cassandra Wilson, Holly Cole, Jahlisa, Penny Ford, Sylvia Shemwell) to sang the notes. Though Strawberry Fields has a few clinkers (“Come Together” for one), there are more than enough transcendent moments like Cole’s “I’m Only Sleeping” and Reeves’ “Tomorrow Never Knows” to justify Belden’s chutzpah. Volume Two, Blue Note (and when are you going to release Belden’s Puccini’s Turandot?)