Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Andrea Veneziani Trio: Oltreoceano

JazzTimes may earn a small commission if you buy something using one of the retail links in our articles. JazzTimes does not accept money for any editorial recommendations. Read more about our policy here. Thanks for supporting JazzTimes.

The adventurous Tuscan-born bassist Andrea Veneziani has found the perfect piano partner in Kenny Werner, whose sensitive, exploratory tack fits well with the leader’s ideas on delicate, searching vehicles like “Night Flight,” “Mark Rothko” and “In Viaggio Con Te.” (All of those cuts are clearly inspired by the seamless interplay of the classic Bill Evans Trio with Scott LaFaro and Paul Motian.) Along with the remarkably sensitive and melodic drummer Ross Pederson, Veneziani and Werner delve into the free zone on three improvised interludes, and pay tribute to three jazz icons on faithful versions of Evans’ “Time Remembered,” Charlie Parker’s “Segment” and Thelonious Monk’s “Pannonica.” Veneziani’s swing factor is strong, his playing on the intimate numbers is responsive and conversational, and he’s a fearless improviser on the free pieces. A stellar debut.

Originally Published