Young Jazz Artist Competition Deadline Extended

Winner invited to play with the Nebraska Jazz Orchestra in Count Basie tribute concert

Nebraska Jazz Orchestra
Nebraska Jazz Orchestra performing with past Young Jazz Artist Award winner Gabriela Praetzel

1 of 2   Next

The deadline to enter the Nebraska Jazz Orchestra’s (NJO) 2010 Young Jazz Artist competition has been extended to Feb. 19. Sponsored by the Dillon Foundation, the competition gives young jazz musicians the opportunity to perform with some of Nebraska’s finest in front of a live audience.

Saxophone, trumpet, trombone, guitar, piano, bass, drum and vibe players, who will not reach their 22nd birthday by April 13 of this year, are invited to apply. The first place winner will receive $250 in cash and be invited to perform with the NJO and guest conductor Bob Krueger at the Tribute to Count Basie concert on April 13 in Lincoln, Neb. A second place winner will win $100.

Applicants must prepare a recorded audition tape including two improvised solos with live or recorded accompaniment. One recording should include four choruses of blues in any key in a jazz style and the second should contain two choruses of a well-known jazz standard.

Notifications will be sent by Feb. 26, and all finalists will be invited to a live audition on March 14 at Emerson Recital Hall in the Rogers Fine Arts Center, at Nebraska Wesleyan University in Lincoln. Finalists will prepare two tunes, preferably in contrasting styles and tempos, and one tune as selected by the NJO Music Director. Finalists will be accompanied by the NJO rhythm section and will have a ten minute audition time.

At the live audition, finalists must provide a hardcopy or digital photograph, a one-page biography and three copies of the solo or lead sheet. The music that the finalists bring for the rhythm section must be in concert key. The winner will be notified immediately following the audition.

For an application call (402) 477-8446 or download a flyer at Nebraska Jazz Orchestra. The postmark deadline for applications is Feb. 19, 2010.

Past winners of the competition include: Karl Lyden, Andrew Janak, Gabriela Praetzel, Paul Krueger, Jordan Elsberry, Brett Lindaman, Tommy van den Berg, Alex Levitov, Derek Molacek, Bryant Scott, Seth Schoen, Chris Steinke, Broc Hempel, and Frank Basile. Previous winners are no longer eligible to apply.

The NJO was founded in 1975 and performs throughout Nebraska and the Midwest. Tours to Europe have included England, France, Germany, Scotland, and a 1997 performance at the prestigious Montreux International Jazz Festival in Montreux, Switzerland.