Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Trumpeter Jon Faddis Signs With KOCH Records

On May 10, KOCH Records announced the signing of legendary trumpeter Jon Faddis. Faddis began his jazz career as a student of Dizzy Gillespie and presently serves as musical director for the Carnegie Hall Jazz Band.

In a recent press release, KOCH Records President Bob Frank says, “We are honored to be a part of Jon Faddis’ legacy. Jazz music has such a rich past, dynamic present and thanks to Jon, a promising and exciting future. This release is also an important part of KOCH’s future in straight-ahead jazz.”

KOCH Records is a division of KOCH Entertainment. Over the past five years, the label has released the largest number of independent albums to enter the Billboard charts.

Faddis releases his next album, Teranga (Senegalese for “hospitality”), through KOCH on June 6. Teranga will feature Faddis’ quartet of David Hazeltine on piano, Kyoshi Kitagawa on bass and Dion Parson on drums, along with a variety of other musical guests. The album is composed of nine tracks, eight of which Faddis wrote specifically for this group of musicians. This is Faddis’ first album with the quartet since 1991. “I appreciate KOCH’s ongoing commitment to jazz and their enthusiasm in sharing the vision in making this record,” Faddis says in the press release.

KOCH Records Vice President David Wilkes returns the trumpeter’s enthusiasm. “We are looking forward to working with Jon and presenting what we know will be a great record that will become a mainstay in jazz for decades to come.”

Track List for Teranga:

1. The Hunters & Gatherers

2. Hey, Lalo!

3. Waltz for My Fathers & Brothers

4. Teranga

5. The Courtship

6. The Fibble-Ow Blues

7. Laurelyn

8. Transitions

9. The Baron

For more information, visit