Three New “Smoke Sessions” Albums Announced

Live shows from pianists Cyrus Chestnut, Orrin Evans and Eric Reed

Three new titles from Smoke Sessions Records, the imprint of New York City’s uptown club Smoke, have been announced for this summer, each featuring a highly regarded contemporary pianist in a live setting. First out, on July 8, is Midnight Melodies, by Cyrus Chestnut, joined by are bassist Curtis Lundy and drummer Victor Lewis. Next, on Aug. 12, will be Orrin Evans’ Liberation Blues, in a quintet that includes trumpeter Sean Jones, saxophonist JD Allen, bassist Luques Curtis and drummer Bill Stewart. Lastly, on Sept. 9, will be Eric Reed’s Groovewise, on which the pianist is accompanied by saxophonist Seamus Blake, bassist Ben Williams and drummer Gregory Hutchinson.

For more information on Smoke Sessions Records, visit Smoke Sessions.