Savoy Jazz Continues Vinyl Reissue Series With 5 New Titles

Charlie Parker, Erroll Garner, Miles Davis, Jimmy Scott, J.J. Johnson & Kai Winding

Erroll Garner
Jimmy Scott

1 of 2   Next

Savoy Jazz will continue its series of limited-edition vinyl reissues by releasing five titles from its catalog on July 31. The reissues includes Charlie Parker Memorial Vol 1, Miles Davis’ First Miles, Jimmy Scott’s Very Truly Yours, Erroll Garner’s Penthouse Serenade and J.J. Johnson and Kai Winding’s Jay & Kai. The limited pressings will be released by Savoy Jazz Records on July 31st.

The Charlie Parker title was first released in 1955 (posthumously), and contains master takes from four sessions recorded in 1947 and 1948 as well as several previously unreleased alternate takes which originally appeared on 7-inch EPs and 10-inch LPs. Personnel: Charlie Parker (alto sax), Miles Davis (trumpet), Bud Powell (piano track B7), Duke Jordan (piano tracks A1-A3), John Lewis (piano tracks A-4-A6, B1-B6), Tommy Potter (double bass tracks A1-A3, B7), Curly Russell (double bass tracks A4-A6, B1-B6), Max Roach (drums).

Track Listing:

Side A

1) “Another Hair-Do” (short take 1, 2, original take 3)

2) “Bluebird” (new take 1)

3) “Bird Gets the Worm” (new take 1)

4) “Barbados” (new take 1)

5) “Constellation (short take 2, new take 1)

6) “Parker’s Mood” (new take 1)

Side B

1) “Ah-Leu-Cha” (short take 1, short take 2)

2) “Perhaps” (short take 4, new take 5)

3) “Perhaps” (original take 6)

4) “Marmaduke” (short take 1, new take 2)

5) “Steeplechase” (original take 1)

6) “Merry-Go-Round” (new take 1)

7) “Buzzy (short take 4, original take 5)

The Miles Davis album was first released in 1990, and contains Davis’ recordings from April 1945 with backing singer Rubberlegs Williams and August 1947 leading members of Charlie Parker’s band. A1-A8 Herbie Fields (tenor sax, clarinet), Miles Davis, (trumpet), Henry “Rubberlegs” Willliams (vocals), Teddy Brannon (piano), Leonard Gaskin (bass), Ed Nicholson (drums). B1-B12 Miles Davis (trumpet), Charlie Parker (tenor sax), John Lewis (piano), Nelson Boyd (bass) Max Roach (drums)

Track Listing:

Side A

1) “That’s the Stuff You Gotta Watch” (alt take 1)

2) “That’s the Stuff You Gotta Watch” (alt take 2)

3) “That’s the Stuff You Gotta Watch (master take 3)

4) “Pointless Mama Blues”

5) “Deep Sea Blues”

6) “Bring It On Home” (first & second take)

7) “Bring it On Home” (master take 3)

8) “Now’s the Time” (master take 4)

Side B

1) “Milestones” (F.S. take 1)

2) “Milestones” (master take 2)

3) “Milestones” (take 3)

4) “Little Willie Leaps” (F.S. incomplete take 1)

5) “Little Willie Leaps” (alt. take 2)

6) “Little Willie Leaps” (master take 3)

7) “Half Nelson” (alternate take 1)

8) “Half Nelson” (master take 2)

9) “Sippin’ At Bells” (F.S. incomplete take 1)

10) “Sippin’ At Bells” (master take 2)

11) “Sippin’ At Bells” (F.S. take 3)

12) “Sippin’ At Bells” (alt. take 4)

The Erroll Garner was recorded in September 1945 and February and March 1949, and showcases Garner’s early recordings for Savoy. Personnel: Erroll Garner (piano All tracks), John Simmons (bass A-1-A-3, A-6 & A-7, B-1 – B4, B-6 & B-7), Alvin Stoller (drums bass A-1-A-3, A-6 & A-7, B-1 – B4, B-6 & B-7), John Levy (bass tracks A-4, A-5 & B-6), George De Hart (drums tracks A-4, A-5 & B-6).

Track Listing:

Side A

1) “I Cover The Waterfront”

2) “Love Walked In”

3) “(I Don’t Stand) A Ghost Of A Chance (With You)”

4) “(Back Home Again In) Indiana”

5) “Somebody Loves Me”

6) “Body And Soul”|

7) “Penthouse Serenade (When We’re Alone)”

Side B

1) “Undecided”

2) “Red Sails In The Sunset”

3) “I Can’t Believe You’re In Love With Him”

4) “Stompin’ At The Savoy”

5) “Stardust”

6) “More Than You Know’

7) “Over the Rainbow”

The Jimmy Scott LP was released in 1955 it was the first album that Jimmy Scott recorded for Savoy. Personnel:

Tracks: A1, A2, A3 – B2 & B6

Dave McRae, alto and baritone sax; George Berg, tenor sax;

Howard Biggs, piano, arranger; George Barnes, guitar; Al Hall, Bass; Dave Bailey, drums

Tracks: A4, A5, A6 – B1

Budd Johnson, tenor sax; Howard Biggs, piano and arranger;

Mundelle Lowe, guitar; Charles Mingus, bass; Rudy Nichols, drums

Tracks: B3 & B4

George Berg; tenor sax; Phil Kraus, vibes; Howard Biggs, piano and arranger;

Sal Salvador, guitar; Jack Lesberg, bass; Cliff Leeman, drums

Track: B5

Budd Johnson, tenor sax; Howard Biggs, piano and arranger;

Everett Barksdale, guitar; Wendell Marshall, bass; Kenny Clarke, drums

Track Listing:

Side A

1) “Imagination”

2) “How Can I Go On Without You?”

3) “Time on My Hands”

4) “When Did You Leave Heaven?”

5) “Guilty”

6) “Everybody Needs Somebody”

Side B

1) “Why Don’t You Open Your Heart”

2) “Don’t Cry, Baby”

3) “Street of Dreams”

4) “Someone to Watch Over Me”

5) “The Show Goes On”

6) “Very Truly Yours”

The J.J. Johnson/Kai Winding set was released in 1954 showcases co-leaders and trombonists J.J. Johnson and Kai Winding. Additional personnel: A1-A4, B1-B4 , Wally Cirillo (piano), Charles Mingus (bass), Billy Bauer (guitar), Kenny Clarke (drums). A-5 J.J. Johnson, trombone; Leo Parker, baritone sax; Hank Jones, piano, Al Lucas, bass; Shadow Wilson, drums. B-5, J.J. Johnson, trombone; Leo Parker, baritone sax; Hank Jones, piano, Al Lucas, bass; Shadow Wilson, drums

Track Listing:

Side A

1) “Bernie’s Tune”

2) “Lament”

3) “Blues for Trombones”

4) “The Major”

5) “Yesterdays”

Side B

1) “Co-Op”

2) “Reflections”

3) “Blues in Twos”

4) “What Is This Thing Called Love?”

5) “The Boy Next Door”