Ravi Coltrane to Release ‘Spirit Fiction’ June 19

New album is produced by Joe Lovano

image 0

Saxophonist and composer Ravi Coltrane will release Spirit Fiction, his Blue Note Records debut, on June 19. The album was co-produced by Coltrane’s label mate and fellow saxophonist Joe Lovano, who guests on two tracks, and includes two different band lineups: a quintet featuring trumpeter Ralph Alessi, pianist Geri Allen, bassist James Genus and drummer Eric Harland; and Coltrane’s longstanding quartet with pianist Luis Perdomo, bassist Drew Gress and drummer E.J. Strickland.

The playlist includes a half-dozen new Coltrane originals and three of Alessi’s tunes, in addition to music by Ornette Coleman (“Check Out Time”) and Paul Motian (“Fantasm”).

Spirit Fiction will be JT‘s lead review in the July/August issue.