NEA Jazz Masters Concert to be Live Webcast Jan. 13

NYC event will include Anthony Braxton, Keith Jarrett, others

Richard Davis
Jamey Aebersold at the JEN Conference Jan. 2013

1 of 2   Next

The annual NEA Jazz Masters Awards ceremony and concert on will be streamed live at 7:30 p.m. ET January 13. The event, co-presented by the NEA and Jazz at Lincoln Center, takes place in the Allen Room at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City.

The concert can be viewed live at Jazz Masters Webcast or NEA JazzMasters. A video archive of the concert will be available on the NEA website following the event.

The 2014 NEA Jazz Masters are Jamey Aebersold (A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy), Anthony Braxton, Richard Davis, and Keith Jarrett.

Wynton Marsalis will co-host with journalist Soledad O’Brien.

Also on the program will be:

Amina Figarova – piano

Russell Hall – bass

Bruce Harris – trumpet

Yasushi Nakamura – bass

Chris Pattishall – piano

Mark Whitfield, Jr. – drums

Warren Wolf – vibraphone

The Thelonious Monk awardees will join this year’s honoree, Aebersold, in performances on stage.

Also on the concert program will be these NEA Jazz Masters:

Jimmy Heath (2003)

Dave Liebman (2011)

Jimmy Owens (2012)

Kenny Barron (2010)

George Wein (2005) as presenter

Muhal Richard Abrams (2010) as presenter

Other performing guest artists include Bill Frisell, Joe Lovano, Ann Hampton Callaway and Jason Moran.

NEA Jazz Masters in attendance at the award ceremony and concert include:

Muhal Richard Abrams

David Baker

Candido Camero

Lou Donaldson

Roy Haynes

Shelia Jordan

Ellis Marsalis

Dan Morgenstern

Eddie Palmieri

Annie Ross

Randy Weston

Poet and writer A.B. Spellman will also be in attendance to present the award named in his honor.

*Performers and attendees are subject to change.