Memphis Music Hall of Fame’s 1st Inductees Included Several Jazz Figures

George Coleman, Jimmie Lunceford among the initial honorees

George Coleman
Memphis Minnie
Jimmie Lunceford

1 of 3   Next

The newly established Memphis Music Hall of Fame inducted its first set of inductees on Nov. 29, with several jazz artists among the initial honorees. The 2012 inductees include bandleader Jimmie Lunceford, W.C. Handy, saxophonist/composer George Coleman, Professor W.T. McDaniel, singer Memphis Minnie and trumpeter/bandleader Willie Mitchell.

The other inductees are Jim Stewart and Estelle Axton, Bobby Blue Bland, Booker T. and the M.G.’s, Lucie Campbell, Al Green, Jim Dickinson, Isaac Hayes, Howlin’ Wolf, B.B. King, Jerry Lee Lewis, Dewey Phillips, Sam Phillips, Elvis Presley, Otis Redding, Staple Singers, Rufus Thomas, three 6 mafia, Nat D. Williams and ZZ Top.

Inductees selection was based on a number of criteria and the decisions were made by local and national music professionals. For more information, visit Memphis Music Hall of Fame.