Maceo Parker Revisits Soul Classics on New CD

James Brown’s saxman to release live recording with WDR Big Band, Christian McBride

Maceo Parker
Maceo Parker

1 of 2   Next

Maceo Parker, James Brown’s saxophonist for many of the late soul giant’s most productive years, will release a new live album, Soul Classics, on Sept. 18 (Listen2 Entertainment / Razor & Tie).

Parker will reunite with the WDR Big Band for the album, a collection of nine songs recorded live at the Leverkusener Jazz Festival in Leverkusener, Germany, in November 2011. The recording features Parker and his special guests-bassist Christian McBride and drummer Cora Coleman-Dunham-in collaboration with the Cologne-based 15-piece orchestra led by conductor/arranger Michael Abene.

Track List

1. Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag

2. I Wish

3. Yesterday I Had The Blues

4. Higher Ground

5. Do Your Thing

6. Rock Steady

7. One In A Million You

8. Soul Power

9. Announcement

10. Come By And See

For more information, visit Maceo Parker.