JJA’s Musician Awards Announced

Jazz Journalists Association honors Shorter, Schneider and more

Maria Schneider
Ryan Truesdell

1 of 2   Next

Winners in the musician categories have been announced for the 2013 Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards. (The media-related awards, in print, online and radio categories, will be announced at a ceremony in New York City in June.) Big winners this year include Wayne Shorter, Wadada Leo Smith, Maria Schneider, Ryan Truesdell and more. Perennial award-winner Sonny Rollins was honored with a special “Emeritus Jazz Artist/Beyond Voting” award, its purpose to highlight both Rollins’ enduring achievements and allow other deserving musicians to win awards.

For the complete list of winners, visit the JJA’s official site.