Jazz Journalists Association Announces Award Finalists

Over 200 nominees in 39 categories of music and media for awards presentation on June 11 in New York City

Sonny Rollins
Jason Moran
Esperanza Spalding receiving her Grammy award
Joe Lovano (with Matt Penman) takes the stage at the 3rd annual Playing Our Parts benefit concert in memory of bassist Dennis Irwin
Vijay Iyer at JJA awards in NYC
Sonny Rollins and Bob Cranshaw at the Molde Jazz Festival in Norway

1 of 6   Next

The Jazz Journalists Association (JJA) announced the nominees for its 15th annual JJA Jazz Awards to be held on June 11 at the City Winery in New York City. There are over 200 finalists in 39 categories, most of which recognize artist- and music-specific, but several relate to the field of jazz journalism, including awards for periodical/website, blog, book, liner notes, photography and feature writing. The nominees are chosen by over 60 of the organization’s active professional members and the winners will be chosen through voting by the organization’s membership. The awards presentation will be emceed by Josh Jackson, a radio broadcaster who is host of NPR’s The Checkout. The events will be streamed at www.jjajazzawards.org

Nominees for Musician of the Year are Esperanza Spalding, Jason Moran, Joe Lovano, Sonny Rollins and Vijay Iyer. Jimmy Heath, Muhal Richard Abrams, Paul Motian, Phil Woods and Wayne Shorter are nominated for Lifetime Achievement. JJA also recognizes contributions by the jazz community through its A-Team and Jazz Heroes awards.

JazzTimes was nominated in the Best Periodical/Website category. The magazine has won as the Best Periodical every year that the award has been issued. This year for the first time, websites and periodicals are combined into one category. In addition, JJA has added a category for Best Short-Form Video.

For a complete list of nominees, you can visit the JJA website.